Paul McMahon Lists THE BEST MOVIES HE SAW IN 2012

BEST MOVIES I SAW IN 2012
By Paul McMahon

I spent this whole year lamenting that I didn’t have a lot of time to sit down and watch movies. Imagine my surprise when I tallied what I’d seen and discovered eighty films on the list. That’s almost two movies a week! With luck, I’ll have the same kind of “no time” next year.

I’m not going to list the films by order of greatness because that would be an exercise in futility. I only got to the theater twice this year, and those are probably the only movies I’ve seen that were actually released in 2012. Besides, most of those ‘least to greatest’ type lists I find overly fraught with nuance and personal taste (excepting the lists on this website, of course). Instead, I’ve decided to list the best movies I’ve seen in twelve different categories.

poster_avengers-awesome

Best Overall Movie:
THE AVENGERS (2012)

Best Horror Movie:
FROZEN (2010)

Best Horror/ Comedy:
TUCKER AND DALE VERSUS EVIL (2010)

Best Movie Seen In The Theater:
CABIN IN THE WOODS (2012)

Best Foreign Movie:
THE DRAGON TATTOO TRILOGY
THE GIRL WHO KICKED THE HORNET’S NEST (2009) was my favorite– I’ve always been a sucker for courtroom movies.

Best Movie Re-Assessment Of The Year:
THE RESURRECTED (1991)

Best New Christmas Movie Tradition:
RARE EXPORTS (2010)

Best Animated Film (Because I Have Kids And End Up Having To Watch A Lot Of Animated Movies):
THE ADVENTURES OF TINTIN (2011)

Best Former Oscar Contender I Finally Got Around To:
127 HOURS (2010)

Best Classic Movie I Finally Got Around To:
THE TAKING OF PELHAM 123 (1974)

Best Movie People Raved About For So Long That I Finally Kowtowed And Watched Only To Wonder Why It Took Me So Long Because That Film Was Awesome, Baby!:
THE BOONDOCK SAINTS (1999)

argo-poster1

Best Movie I Didn’t Get To See And Tops My “MUST SEE” List for 2013:
ARGO (2012)

BEST BOOKS READ IN 2012

I ended up a little behind my intent to read a book a week this year, finishing at 46 out of 52. Of these, in no particular order, the best were:

caretaker-of-lorne-field

THE CARETAKER OF LORNE FIELD by David Zeltserman

A REQUIEM FOR DEAD FLIES by Peter N. Dudar

SNOW by Ronald Malfi

LULLABY by Chuck Palahniuk

and the story collection

SHINY THING by Patricia Russo

© Copyright 2013 by Paul McMahon

Leave a Reply

